My (current) favorite MacBook Feature

It’s not what you think.

Cory Wilson
3 min readAug 30, 2021
Photo by Hello I'm Nik on Unsplash

The MacBook Air has served me well for going on almost three months now. I love most things about it. It took some getting used to when I transitioned over from my Windows-based desktop, but Apple has made an elegant, powerful laptop with tons of great features.

My favorite feature.

On my iPhone, I love Face ID, it makes logging in to apps and websites so much easier. It saves me an insane amount of time. Luckily, Apple brought a similar feature into their MacBook line up in the form of the Touch ID Button.

The Touch ID Button can be summed up simply with the words my wife used when she saw me tap it, “Is that like a fingerprint scanner or something?”.

It is, in fact, a fingerprint scanner that also serves as the power button. It saves me so much time when it comes to entering passwords or even unlocking the Mac. Furthermore, it functions just like the Touch ID feature on iPhone before the rise of Face ID and the destruction of the physical home button/fingerprint scanner.

Why is it my favorite?

To be honest, I don’t always want to type my passwords out, and honestly I sometimes forget them. This is why the ability to save my passwords and use my finger to…

--

--

Cory Wilson

Tech Enthusiast 💻 Casual Gamer 🕹 Data Analytics Student 📚 I write for fun 📝